Crunchy Zucchini Sticks with Greek Yogurt Dipping Sauce

First of all, it SNOWED here in north Texas this morning. I wasn’t expecting that when I gathered up the kids this morning to take my son to school.

Now, before I get into the recipe I want to share a little something with you that I am crazy excited about.

You’re going to want to check this out.

Ipsy

Here’s a little description from their site.

“Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag

with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products

All for only $10 a month.”

I signed up a couple of months ago and I love everything I’ve gotten! I just got my January bag today, here’s what it included.

Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Body Butter, SOHO Ergonomic Concealer Brush, Sexy Hair Volumizing Hair Spray, Josie Maran Argan Oil, and Nailtini Bloody Mary Nail Lacquer

Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Body Butter, SOHO Ergonomic Concealer Brush, Sexy Hair Volumizing Hair Spray, Josie Maran Argan Oil, and Nailtini Bloody Mary Nail Lacquer

Well worth $10 and I love being able to try out products that I otherwise would probably never buy! Last month I got an Urban Decay eye pencil and Yves Saint Laurent Mascara that I’m hooked on! It’s also nice just to get goodies in the mail 🙂 You can give these as gifts too which is fantastic. I gave them to all the women on my Christmas list this year and it was definitely a hit!

Speaking of a hit…these crunchy zucchini sticks were a score for this mom tonight. Both of my guys groan every time I make zucchini. I’ll admit that sometimes it seems to turn out a bit watery and soggy no matter how I cook it, and I’ve cooked it just about any and every way possible. Well, I have now, anyway.

We’ve been trying to keep things healthy around here, mostly by loading up on veggies and reasonably avoiding carbs. I had strip steak, zucchini and salad on the menu tonight but I wanted the boys to like the zucchini and since we had no other carbs planned I thought treating them sort of like mozzarella sticks seemed like a good idea.

I used a few unique ingredients that you can replicate or replace with something similar. In the egg wash that I used to get the bread crumbs to stick I used a dressing (homemade) that I had left over from last night. It’s a mustardy tarragon lemon vinaigrette (I’ll try to get the recipe posted this week) but you could replace it with a light Caesar, greek dressing or just use a bit Dijon. For the dipping sauce I mixed plain fat free greek yogurt with lemon artichoke hummus and feta water. If you have a Central Market near enough to go shopping you can get the hummus from the bulk section and the feta water is just the liquid that is in the container with the cheese. I get the one that’s labeled ‘superior sheep’s milk feta’. Its the best! If you don’t have access to fresh feta in water just use plain water and salt to taste.

 

IMG_1774

IMG_1770

Ingredients:

3 medium zucchini

1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan

1 cup bread crumbs

2 large eggs

1 Tbsp Mustard Tarragon Vinaigrette

1 cup AP flour

Salt and pepper to taste

Sauce:

1 cup fat free greek yogurt

3 Tbsp Hummus

1/4 cup feta water (more or less depending on how thick or thin you want sauce to be)

Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Prep a baking sheet by lightly oiling or covering with foil.

Cut each zucchini in half lengthwise then cut each half in half lengthwise and then cut each quarter in half lengthwise. Cut all of them in half (on the short side).

Get three medium/large bowls. Mix together breadcrumbs, parm and a bit of salt and pepper in one of the bowls. Wisk eggs and dressing in another bowl and mix flour with salt and pepper in the third bowl. Coat zucchini on all sides with flour, dust off excess and dip in egg mixture then toss in bread crumbs and lay them out in even layer on the baking sheet.

Bake for about 10 min then flip each one and bake 10 more min.

Mix together sauce ingredients until combined. Salt if needed.

Sit back and enjoy watching your family devour their veggies 🙂

This should serve 4 and is right around 200 calories per serving. Not bad, huh?!

Mmmkay, it’s late (for me) and my couch partner is watching Silence of the Lambs soo…gotta go!

Blog Signature

 

One thought on “Crunchy Zucchini Sticks with Greek Yogurt Dipping Sauce

Leave a Reply

