Crochet Mug Cozy

I hope everyone on my Christmas list likes these little cuties because that’s what they’re all getting this year!

I’m also making a couple for myself because they are just too darn cute.

These are all over Etsy either the cozy itself for sale or you can buy patterns. I made my own pattern and I will share that with you now for no charge (how about that?).

This is a great beginner project since you really only need to know the basics, nothing fancy. Add to that some remedial embroidery skills and you have yourself a super easy and super adorable mug cozy that will cause your neighbors to be rife with envy (ok, maybe not that last bit).

Disclaimer: I have made up my own patterns plenty of times but I have never shared them with anyone so if it’s hard to understand or it doesn’t read like you’re used to…I’m sorry. Leave questions in the comments and I’ll answer as quickly as possible.

On with it.

Materials: Worsted weight yarn, small piece of felt, embroidery thread, embroidery needle, three medium buttons

Hook: US J10/6.00MM

Gauge: 16 st/sq in.

chain 11.

Row 1: sc into second ch from hook. Continue working a sc in each ch. ch 1 and turn.

Row 2: sc into each sc. ch 1 and turn.

Rows 3-31: Repeat Row 2. Do not tie off.

Attach buttons with embroidery needle and thread along the short edge of your work at the starting chain.

Test it around one of your mugs to make sure it fits and to get an idea of how long your button loops need to be. This will depend on the shape/size of your mug (mine holds 8 oz. and is slightly tapered), the shape/size of your buttons (my buttons are circular and 3/4 in. in diameter) and how wide you want the gap between the edges (my gap is about 1 in.). Based on that, I’m going to tell you how I did mine.

To Make Button Loops: At the end of row 31 ch 10 and turn. sc into second sc from ch. sc in the next sc then ch 10. skip one sc then sc into the next two. ch 10. skip two sc then slip stitch into the last sc on that row. tie off and weave in ends.

Cut your felt into whatever shape you want. Stitch it onto your cozy with the embroidery needle and thread. You can leave your felt blank or stitch on a little design or saying using a backstitch. I’ve seen them done to look like a little tab from a teabag hanging down which I think is super cute but I’m not a huge tea drinker.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

