My Maxi Skirt

For those of you that saw my post last Friday about this gorgeous fabric my mom thrifted for me…

As promised, here is the final skirt and the “How to”.

Sunglasses: Walmart    Jewlery: Forever 21    Belt: Thrifted    Shirt: Old Navy    Skirt: Self Made    Shoes: Target

First, determine how long you want your skirt to be and add 3 inches.

Measure your waist where you want the skirt to sit and cut your fabric to about 1 1/2 times that (so if your waist is 30 in cut it to 45 in).

Measure from your waist (where the skirt will sit) down to where you want the slit to start and write down that number (mine was 18 inches)

 

 

 

This is a very simple skirt. I originally wanted pockets (and still kind of do) but I also wanted to be able to wear the slit anywhere (in the back or the other side) so I chose to use only one seam as this would keep me from having an oddly placed seam if I move it around. The whole thing took about 2 hours and I still have some fabric left for another project 🙂

Also, in case you’re interested. The skirt itself cost about 60 cents and the whole outfit pictured above is a total cost of $36 from head to toe…can’t beat that.

3 thoughts on “My Maxi Skirt

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day | These Two Hands

Leave a Reply

