Balsamic Glazed Chicken with Carmelized Brussel Sprouts and Roasted Cauliflower

I found these recipes via Pinterest and thought they sounded soooo yummy and they were!! Hubby and I are always trying to figure out ways to fill up on tasty healthy foods for less money. It’s difficult to do when you limit carbs as we typically do so when I found these I was super excited. There are no processed or refined carbs, only the ones in the veggies. It’s also dairy-free if you’re into that sort of thing. I’m fine with it once in a while but a girl’s got to have her cheese! You’ll find that you don’t miss it though :) All three of these recipes come from Eat, Live, Run which I am now following because I love everything about this blog! I kind of followed the recipes (I never do exactly as I’m told, it’s a sickness, really) with a few exceptions…

1.) For the chicken: First of all, I omitted the pesto and mozzarella because it didn’t seem to fit with the sides I planned and it was great without it anyway. I had my lovely sauce wizard husband make a reduction of balsamic vinegar, chicken stock and dijon mustard. Once reduced by about half, we glazed the chicken with  it as we were grilling it and then drizzled the remainder over the chicken after plating.

2.) For the brussel sprouts: I used organic raw sugar instead of brown sugar. As much as I love brown sugar, there is nothing that beats the full, nutty flavor of a good raw sugar.

3.) For the cauliflower: I used  a light sprinkle of my husband’s homemade blackening spice to season the cauliflower rather than what the recipe calls for and it turned out delicious. His recipe is as follows:

Mix together 2 tbsp ancho chile powder, 2 tbsp new mexico chile powder, 2 tbsp sweet paprika, 2 tbsp hot paprika, 2 tbsp cumin, 2 tbsp coriander, 2 tbsp onion powder, 2 tbsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp chipotle powder, 1 tbsp cayenne. Store this in an air tight container like a small tupperware or large empty spice bottle and it will last basically forever. Taste it, if you like it spicier then add more chipotle and/or cayenne. Likewise, if you want it less spicy then reduce the amounts of those.

From Eat, Live, Run

Caramelized Brussel Sprouts recipe here

From Eat, Live, Run

Spicy Roasted Cauliflower recipe here.

From Eat, Live, Run

Grilled Balsamic Chicken recipe here.

You should try these out. Also, poke around on Eat, Live, Run, Jenna is a trained chef and really knows her stuff. I plan on trying more of her recipes and I’ll definitely share that with you when I do so.

Leave a Reply

